the proposal


forgive me because this is just me blogging at the spur of the moment.

i think a part of me already felt that he was up to something but all the while i was not sure what it could be. i just have these moments sometimes when i have that – a feeling. the whole time that we were together today, i noticed that my heart would suddenly beat irregularly whenever there was even just a split second of silence where i would catch him just looking at me with dreamy eyes. i also realized i was too talkative than usual today just to avoid looking dreamily back at him, haha. para akong tanga! feeling first date?

but he must have been too determined to make this day even more special than it already is (today is our 10th anniversary). instead of parting ways after dinner as planned, he insisted on accompanying me home even though he was already running late for work. upon seeing that my roommate was already home too he reminded me that he forgot to take my outfit shot. so we went outside. i wanted to have the outfit shot taken near the stairs (because it was the only area that was well-lit then and i was also thinking it would be easier for him to leave at once for work after taking an outfit shot of me) but he insisted to go to the veranda. it’s almost full moon, he said.

after taking shots of me, he told me to also take a shot of him. i was happy to do it because i usually have to beg him to pose for me, heh.

i don’t know how it happened but when i aimed the camera at him, he was already down on one knee. i can’t remember all the details now but i just remember him asking me, “bebi, will you marry me?” and then i was panicking and i don’t know, maybe talking non-sense out of shock. he did not stand up until i finally said, “yes, yes, of course! yes!”

and then we hugged and for i don’t know how long, we just stood there hugging each other. and then he asked me if i wouldn’t let him put the ring on me and at first i didn’t want to give him my hand because i know i was going to cry (several months ago, he “practiced” proposing to me and i cried just seeing him kneeling before me with a ring made of table napkin at mcdo). i eventually gave him my hand and i think he whispered “akin ka na” after putting the ring on my finger, haha.

and then fast forward to now. here i am, trying my best to remember everything about how i got this ring on my finger (it’s quite loose but i have a feeling that i will be wearing it to sleep tonight, hihi). and even now as i type this, i am overwhelmed that after all these years (and talking about getting married since day one, haha), he still thought of giving me that heart-stopping moment of seeing the man of my dreams get down on one knee with a ring and asking me to marry him. <3

(now, how to tell my parents, haha!)

photo credit: screen capture from the tv series “chuck”

tuesday, june 14, 2011, 9:01 p.m.

Leave a Reply

