missing my nephew (part two)

because you asked for it, here is a compilation of shout-outs from my facebook featuring my nephew:

at seven
out of the blue, my nephew told me: “ninang is the beautifulest girl in the earth.”

* * *
as i was approaching our gate: “neeeeenaaaanggg!!!” (wow, para akong nag-abroad! haha.)

* * *
waking me up around 5:30am: “ninang, gising na, tumitilaok na yung mga manok o!” (godmother, wake up, the rooster is crowing already!”)

* * *
his first sms to me: “rada-rada.”

* * *
before opening gifts, my nephew looks for the card first and reads it aloud.

* * *
earlier, me: “baby, sali ka sa mga nagba-basketball! naka-rubber shoes ka naman!” (“baby, join those who are playing basktetball! you are wearing rubber shoes after all!”) rajah: “naka-slippers lang kaya ako!” (“i am wearing slippers only!”) me: “hindi ikaw, yang naglalakad sa harap mo.” (“i was not referring to you, but to that person walking in front of you.”) rajah: “ah, kala ko ako e sabi mo kasi baby. malaki na kaya yan (referring to kim)!” (“i thought you were referring to me because you said baby. he is big already!”)

later,
nephew is crying because he doesn’t want me to address kim as baby.

before sleeping,
rajah: “i’m sorry, ninang. ginulo ko yung room mo. (“i made a mess in your room.”) ako lang ang baby ha? (“i am the only baby, okay?”) goodnight. see you next week.”

the following week,
me: “pede na bang maging ambebi ulit si ninang at tawagin nyang baby si tito kim?” (“can i be ambebi again and can i call uncle kim baby?”) rajah: (shy smile) pwede na! (“you can!”)

* * *
nephew says he will play the violin on my wedding day. sweet kid.

* * *
before falling asleep… “ninang, ilagay mo sa facebook, today we study math, buy cake for lolo, eat mcdo and buy chips. tapos sa huli, love, rajah.” (these were all the things we did together.)

* * *
while passing through the living room. my nephew looked at me, smiled and then pointed at the tv: “si ninang, o!” (“look, there’s godmother!”) he was watching milan on cinema one.

* * *
me: “bahang-baha na daw sa manila…” (“they say manila is flooded already…”) kim: “sana umalis na yung bagyo…” (“let’s hope the typhoon will leave already…”) rajah: “alam mo kasi, tito kim, ang philippines e malapit sa equator kaya tayo binabagyo palagi.” (“you know, uncle kim, the philippines is near the equator that’s why typhoons frequent us.”)

* * *
my nephew was staring at my bedroom wall, and then looked at me, smiled and said: “ninang, kamukha mo yung babae (pointing at the smallville poster).” (“godmother, you look like that girl.”)

* * *
after i calculated his body mass index: “ninang, ano? kailangan ko pa bang mag-diet?” (“godmother, so, do i still need to diet?” me: “normal ka pa naman. pero mag-diet ka pa din ng konti.” (you’re on the normal range. but you still have to diet a little.”) he then went to my mom: “lola, sabi duon sa ni-research ni ninang, konting diet na lang daw ako.” (“grandmother, according to godmother’s research, i only need to diet a little.”) after two minutes, he went to my dad: “lolo, mayroon pa bang pancit?” (“grandfather, do we still have noodles?”)

* * *
while having a chickenjoy dinner, mom: “birthday pala ni almi ngayon.” (“it seems like it’s almi’s birthday today.”) rajah: “huh? ako kaya ang magbi-birthday sa december 16!” (“huh? it’s me who’s celebrating a birthday on december 16!) mom: “pinalitan na kaya niya ang birthday nya.” *”she just changed her birthday.”) rajah: “ano?! november na?!” (“what?! to november?!”)

at eight:
my nephew woke me up around 7 a.m.: “ninang, gising na. tignan mo yan, may sun na o.” (godmother, wake up already. look at that, there’s the sun already.” me: “puyat si ninang, later na ha?” (“godmother was up all night. i’ll wake up later, okay?) he left my room but came back a few minutes after: “ninang, dali! gising ka na! pingu na!” (“godmother, hurry! wake up already! pingu is on already!”)

* * *
role reversal: “lolo, maligo ka na saka magbihis ka na. aalis na tayo.” (“grandfather, take a bath and dress up already. we will be leaving right now.”

* * *
while i was sick: “ninang, anong sakit mo? wag mo akong lalalinan.” (“godmother, what sickness do you have? don’t pass it on to me.”)

* * *
right after exiting the gate of splash island… “ninang, this is the best summer ever!”

* * *
my nephew sneaked into my room to return my bear warren. i had to loan him boink (also a bear) so he’ll let me bring warren with me to makati. he then introduced boink to his stuffed dogs – james, hogan and lloydie. (cute!)

* * *
my nephew called me at 5:50 a.m.: “ninang? bagong gising ka?” (“godmother, did you just wake up?” me: “natutulog pa nga si ninang e.” (“actually, godmother is still sleeping.”) rajah: “nakabili ka na ba ng foldabots book 3?” (“have you bought the foldabots book 3?) me: “tatawagan na lang kita pag nakabili na ako ha?” (“i will call you when i got one, okay?”)

at nine:
while i was trying to play the violin (twinkle, twinkle, little star or the alphabet song), my nephew was commenting on my performance by saying good, better, best or bad, worse, worst for every stroke i make. (teacher? haha!)

* * *
before going to sleep, my nephew placed all the gifts he received from us tonight on his study table and wrote this note beside it: “please read my letter. thank you for all your gifts this christmas.” a separate note taped on a bag of candies says: “thank you, jesus for the gifts i received from my family.”

* * *
my nephew just walked out of his room carrying his stuffed toys–three dogs, two bears and a monkey–while singing “you’ve got a friend in me” from toy story 3.

* * *
story time before sleeping… “ninang, ano bang ginagawa mo sa maynila?” (“godmother, what are you doing in manila?”) me: “aba, edi nagwo-work…” (“working, of course…”) rajah: “naliligo… kumakain… naglalaba… ganyun?” (“taking a bath… eating… doing the laudry… like that?”) me: “opo…” (“yes…”) he laughed and said, “boring naman! kawawa ka naman!” (“that’s boring! poor you!”)

* * *
story time before sleeping… “hindi ko nakukumusta si aya (his cousin)… busy kasi e!” (“i haven’t checked on aya… because i’m busy!”) me: “ambata-bata mo pa a! busy ka na agad?!” (“you’re so young! you’re busy already?!”) rajah: “busy sa work! answer nang answer nang answer! hanggang matapos ang book!” (“busy at work! i answer and answer and answer! until i finish the book!”)

* * *
one of the two colored chicks my nephew bought from san jose fiesta just won’t stop chirping so he said to the chick, “pilyaaa!!!” (“disobedient!!!”)

2 thoughts on “missing my nephew (part two)

Leave a Reply

